The Nigeria national women's football team, nicknamed the Super Falcons, is the national team of Nigeria and is controlled by the Nigeria Football Federation. They won the first seven African championships and through their first twenty years lost only five games to African competition: December 12, 2002 to Ghana in Warri, June 3, 2007 at Algeria, August 12, 2007 to Ghana in an Olympic qualifier, November 25, 2008 at Equatorial Guinea in the semis of the 2008 Women's African Football Championship and May 2011 at Ghana in an All Africa Games qualification match.

The Super Falcons have been unable to dominate beyond Africa in such arenas as the FIFA Women's World Cup or the Olympic Games. The team has been to every World Cup since 1991, but managed just once to finish in the top eight. In 2003, the Super Falcons turned out to be the biggest disappointment of the first round, failing to score a single goal and losing all three Group A matches. They did little better in 2007, drawing only one of their Group B matches. However, it must also be noted in their defense that they faced the group of death in both 2003 and 2007, grouped both times with rising Asian power North Korea, traditional European power Sweden, and a historic women's superpower in the USA.

Nigeria hosted the African women’s championship finals for the third time in 2006, replacing Gabon, which was initially granted the right to host but later pulled out citing financial difficulties, and won it for the seventh time in a row. Nigeria’s Super Falcons and Ghana’s Black Queens represented Africa in China for the 2007 FIFA Women's World Cup.

The "Falconets" are the country’s junior team, which performed creditably in Russia 2006 when they beat Finland 8–0 before they were sent packing by Brazil. They were the runner-up to Germany at the 2010 FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup.Nigeria was qualified to play in the U-20 women's world cup in Canada and was defeated by Germany in the finals 0-1, Asisat Oshoala got golden ball and golden boot.

The "Flamingoes" are the country’s cadet team (U-17), which qualified for the inaugural women's U-17 World Cup New Zealand 2008.



Talking Points

Latest News




Good Read


{{::item.item.time_to_read}} min read
Load More Stories

Want your site featured on footyfeed?

At footyfeed we are always on the look out for great new content for our users.

If you run a football blog, news site or video channel and want to be featured in your teams live feed then drop us an email on the address below and send us the web address to your site.

Email us at


1. We understand that we will only win if our publisher partners win. Our aim is to get you as much quality traffic as we can.

2. We will not have pages of guidelines and rules - we will only take quality publishers onto our platform in the first place. We will, however, have one general guideline - the reader / user is king, and everything else will stem from there.

3. We will talk to our publishers, listen to their suggestions for improvements, and be receptive to any ideas that may be beneficial to our mutual businesses.

Email us at

Embed this on your website

Paste the code snippet below into your website where you would like this story to appear.


Customise footyfeed by changing the settings below

Hide images on articles
Hide descriptions on articles